What’s the Difference?

I’m sure I’ll stir up a hornet’s nest with this post, but what can I say?  As an interior designer, I know that designers are so weary of being called decorators.  Now, don’t get me wrong – there is nothing wrong with being an interior decorator.  It’s a fine profession.  I often function as a decorator, and I enjoy that part of my job very much.

That said, there is a significant difference between a designer and a decorator.  Did you know that?  I just wrote an article to try and explain the differences.  So many people assume that the terms are interchangeable – and they aren’t.  In fact, I attended design school at UW-Stout in Menomonie, WI, and they offer both an interior design degree, and a decorating degree – both in different colleges.  Each profession has a purpose, and its own specialities; they aren’t the same.

I’d love to hear your thoughts – have you hired a decorator, only to find out later you actually needed a designer?  Is this new information to you?  Well, you learn something new everyday, right?

Leave a comment

Filed under Interior Design News

Leave a Reply

