Curtains For Me

I FINALLY got around to making a little cafe curtain for my newly-repainted bathroom.  If you recall, I removed the wallpaper in this bathroom during the summer, and painted Sherwin Williams “Vast Sky” on the walls.  The window used to be covered with a very sad, very dusty vinyl mini-blind – leftover from the previous owners of my home.  Just last week, I finally completed the cafe curtain:

My bathroom window - finally pretty!

If you have never made a cafe curtain, you may not realize that they can be a little bit of a pain – at least for those of us who are not gifted seamstresses.  I can sew a straight line (barely), but adding a lining to this curtain made everything more complicated.  I have a new appreciation for my drapery workrooms, and will never complain about pricing!  What they do is so specialized, and it’s something I cannot do for myself (or at least, I don’t want to do it myself).  That, alone, makes their labor charges well worth the money.

I used a fabric from Greenhouse Design (link on the right of my blog), and I just LOVE it!  My mom calls it a Dr. Suess fabric – and I can see why.  The brightly colored, but stylized floral pattern is outlined in black – much like the illustrations in a Dr. Suess book.  Since the art of Dr. Suess is some of my all-time favorite stuff, that’s just fine with me.  This tiny little curtain adds so much personality to my little bathroom, at a minimum of cost.  One yard of fabric was all I needed, along with a $8 tension curtain rod.  Let me know what you think!  Design on a budget can still be fun!

Leave a comment

Filed under New Projects

Leave a Reply

